About Us
How To Participate
Driver Information
Car Plans
Registration Form
Our Sponsors
Meetings and 1976 Race Photo
Map of Race Area
Pics 2013
Pics 2012
Pics 2007 - 2010

Welcome to the Capital District All American Soap Box Derby
The race will be June 22 & 23 2014
Madison Avenue
Albany NY 12242

Next meeting is April 25, 2014 7:00pm 
will be held at the Boys and Girls Club at
 21 Deleware Avenue
Albany NY 12210

Please Check the Meetings link
to the left for the rest of the schedule

We would also like to welcome our New Corporate Sponsor
 Hewlett Packard

We would like to Welcome and Thank
 The Albany Boys and Girls Club for supporting us with our event this year with a place for our Meetings and Car Inspections and the Guilderland public Library for allowing us to use their location for meetings also.     

We would also like to thank Ron Noll and the Masonic Temple for their unconditional support to us from 2007 - 2013 with a place to have our meetings and storing our cars since we began our journey to bring the Capital District Soap Box Derby back to Albany.



Congratulations to our 2013 Champions and all who participated in this years event.

This years winner of the NY Giants 2012 Autographed football APRIL LOBB FROM ALBANY NY

The entire staff and all the racers would like to thank
Ginger Miller
For her continued efforts in keeping the Soap Box Derby alive in Albany NY

And Always a Huge thanks for all of our staff and volunteers who make this derby possible to run.   

We are now taking applications for the 2014 Race
Don't wait 

June 8 & 9 2013 Race results

Masters 1st Place 
Ally Burdgick

2nd place Taylor VanDenburg
3rd Place Christopher Gilleece

Super Stock 1st place
Madison VanDenburg

2nd Place Logan Aiello
3rd place Quazier Wertz

Stock 1st Place 
Katie Warner


2nd place Ian Shaw
3rd place Rufus Nyguyen 

The 2013 Drivers 

Masters Division

Ally Burdgick

David Karasz

Emily Doty

Sarah Fuller

Taylor Vandenburg

Christopher Gileece

Elizabeth O'Tool

Superstock Division

Drew Decker

Donald Karasz

Ryan Pennman

Mackenzie Therrien

Katie Abel

Amina Webster

Madison Vandenburg

Logan Aeillo

Alex Decker

Kengie Morales

Kyilee Vermilyea 

Quazier Wertz

Everett Burby

Marquis Jones

Liberty Seifert

Taylor Hess

Faith O'Tool

Breann Stalker

Stock Division

Katie Warner

Madison Halter

Khaleed Abrahams

Kayla Eames

Artenio Rodriquez

Ayanna Williams

Max Miller

Rufus Nguyen

Maxim Gottlics

Ian Shaw

Molly O'Toole

Olivia Aguado

Ava Gamello

June 9th 2012 Race results 

Masters 1st place 
Dana Kellogg

2nd place Ally Burdgick
3rd Place Cameron Gilleece

Super Stock 1st place
Nicole Rynders

2nd Place Logan Aiello
3rd place David Karasz

Stock 1st Place
Taylor Vandenburg 

2nd place Madison Halter
3rd place Katie Warner 

Take a ride down Madison Avenue with Kayleigh Degonzague

Take a ride down Madison Avenue with Thomas McHugh


Cameron Gilleece
Emily Doty
Sara Fuller
Ally Burdgick
Betsey O'toole
Dana Kellogg


Drew Decker

Haley McHugh

Madison Vandenburg

Logan Aiello

Nicole Rhynders

Christopher Gilleece

Kayleigh DeGonzague

Jacob Garry

Ryan Penman

Faith O'Toole

Robert Rosario

David Karasz

Dakota Rose

Jared Hunter

Michael Campbell

Jah'male Dickson

Madison Glock
Tom Curiale


Thomas McHugh

Alex Decker

Tayler Vandenburg

Hayden Todd

Katie Warner

Madison Halter

Devyn Millner-Callahan
Donald Kurasz 

Rose Stalker

Molly O'Toole

Brandon Kramer

Taylor Hess

Artemio Rodriquez

Winston Slater

Novindro Clark

Breann Stalker

Drivers View Ramp 1


1st Place - Andrew Decker
 Clifton Park, NY

2nd place - Taylor Vandenburg
 Cohoes NY
3rd Place - Jacob Preville
 Schenectady, NY

1st Place - Cameron Burdgick
 Guilderland, NY

2nd Place - Dakota Rose, Rensselaer, NY
3rd Place - Shaquore Caldwell, Albany, NY

1st Place - Nicole Rhynders, Albany, NY

2nd Place - Emily Doty, Schenectady, NY
3rd Place - Betsy O'Toole, Albany, NY

1st Place Winners will go to Akron, Ohio on July 23rd to compete in the world wide championships.

Thank you to banner-carriers in the 2011 Memorial Day Parade:
Deante Moore
Taylor VanDenburg
Emily Doty
Cameron and Christopher Gilleece
Katelyn Alderson
Jacob Preville

2010 Race
Congratulations to the winners of the 2010 Capital District Soap Box Derby

1st Madison VanDenburg

2nd Taylor VanDenburg
3rd Helaina Howe

Super Stock
1st Dana Bender

2nd Danny Martino
3rd Christina Morawski

1st Cory Marriott

2nd Nicole Rynders
3rd Jessica Riccardi

2010 World Championship in Akron, OH
Masters Rally Racing
1st Place: Michael Morawski (Guilderland, NY)

Thank you to all of our sponsors.  Visit our Sponsors page by clicking link at left.

The 2012 race is open to all Boys and Girls ages 8 to 18.  The winners of the local Capital District Soap Box Derby will win a trip to Akron, Ohio ($500 - $1,000 allowance) to compete in the World Championship in July, 2011.

There are three divisions of racing:

Stock: 7-13 year olds, up to 5'3" and 125 pounds.

Superstock: 10-17 year old, up to 6' and 150 pounds.

Masters: 10-17 years old, up to 6' and 150+ pounds.

All racing cars are purchased as kits which range from $700 to $800.  Pre-owned cars may also be available by contacting the Race Director.  Rules change slightly from year-to-year, so older cars may require modification or may not be eligible for racing.  Racing registration fee is $50.  Drivers normally obtain a sponsor to reduce cost.

Here is link to the national website:


HomeAbout UsHow To ParticipateContactsDriver InformationCar Plans Registration FormOur SponsorsMeetings and 1976 Race PhotoMap of Race AreaVideoPics 2013Pics 2012Pics 2007 - 2010Guestbook